top of page
  • Megan

Grocery Savings Tips

In 2019, we spent $9,189 on groceries, our second highest expense after our mortgage. Groceries are a necessity but also a controllable expense.


Here are a few things I do when I’m on my game to lower this expense (aside from my usual inventory, planning, and ad shopping):


✔️Do not, I repeat, do NOT take the children if you absolutely don’t have to. I spend on average $50 more when they’re with me. I can’t concentrate or compare prices, and I just want to get out of there. And you know they ask for stuff and I’m like “oh yeah that would be tasty, throw one in the cart” 🤦🏼‍♀️


✔️Order online and pickup, if possible. This way you aren’t impulse buying and you can shop best prices at multiple stores.


✔️ MOST times, you don’t have to buy 2 when it says 2/$5 (or whatever price). Don’t spend $ if you don’t need the extra item!


✔️This might be too obvious, but don’t shop on an empty stomach. You might buy everything that sounds good at the moment.


✔️ Stick to the list. Stick to the list. Stick to the list.


✔️ Don’t buy “just in case” items.


✔️Keep a running tally of how much you are spending. I do this on my grocery list if I’m in store. Online, it does it for you. Stick to your budget, take out items you don’t absolutely need if you go over.


✔️ Plan meals ahead of time, you’ll forget something if you plan in the store. Resulting in another trip that most likely not be limited to that ONE item you forgot.


✔️Don’t send your husband in place of you....maybe that just applies to mine. 😂

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Surviving Your No Dining Out Month

If you tend to eat out because you are crunched for time or you don't feel like cooking, having some quick, easy recipes in your back pocket is essential. I apologize for not having beautiful picture

bottom of page