top of page
  • Megan

Create An At-Home Workout Space

You don't need a gym membership, a fancy workout room, or a ton of equipment to work out at home. I had a gym membership once at Snap Fitness before I had kids, and again at a women's only gym for about 6 months last year. Working out at home is so much more convenient for me for obvious reasons.  Below you will find my setup and the equipment that I use.

We have an unfinished basement, which is my workout space. I picked one of the rooms in the back of the basement. It has some toys in it, and it's next to the room the girls play "school" in. The one next to that has a bunch of big furniture boxes they make forts with. These things keep them occupied while I work out!



Here is my little corner with all of my supplies....



These weights are my favorite Amazon purchase! They are the newest, updated version of the weights I used to have. I ordered them after one of the plates slipped out and broke my toe. More on that another time.  (Also: my yoga mat. However, I don't use it much because we have carpet and rugs downstairs.)


Next to my weights is a small shelf. On top I keep the baby monitor, water, speaker, and my weight progress sheet. I write down the exercise and how much I'm lifting so I make sure I'm trying to progress to a heavier weight.



Below that is my bucket of extras - attachments for resistance bands and my loop bands. I use the loops bands to add difficulty to squats, side steps, etc.



On the bottom, I keep 2 extra plates from the old weight set and my kettlebell. Right now, I only have an 8 pounder, but I may upgrade soon! This one is good for swings, but it's too light for rows, extensions, upright rows, etc.




A must for working out at home is resistance bands. You can do so many more exercises that are normally gym-based moves if you have a set of resistance bands. I have an attachment that I can put through the door to hold it, but I just loop it around one of the boards.




As for cardio - we DO have a 9-year-old elliptical - that has been broken for 4 years, so that's not helping much. What I do is walk/run whenever it's nice enough out and I have John home with the girls. I also do a lot of HIIT training - jumping jacks, high knees, burpees, plank jacks, and so on.


There you have it!  All of this equipment together cost about $350 - a year gym membership costs more than that! It's so worth it to me because I don't have to drive there and back, leave my house when it's cold, work around a group class schedule, or pay extra for child care. I can work out with the baby napping or playing near me. I can use this equipment anywhere that the kids are - I've taken it upstairs, outside, and the garage.


Don't let not having a gym membership be an excuse for not working out!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page